cauliflower cheese

cauliflower 001

We spent the weekend in Asiago… nice and sunny but still cold at night. My all-time favourite supper dish must be cauliflower cheese, which I made on Friday evening.

First I boiled a cauliflower and left it to drain well. When it was cold, I made the bechamel sauce by putting 25 g flour, 40 g of butter and half a litre of milk in a pan. I whisked constantly until it came to boiling, then I simmered for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon. Off the heat I added salt, pepper,nutmeg and parmesan. No lumps, honest!

I then divided the caulifower into large pieces, put them in a buttered oven dish, poured over the sauce, sprinkled some breadcrumbs and flecks of butter on top and put it in the oven at 180°C for about 20 minutes.

We had this with Parma ham, but cooked ham is good too.

Leave a comment