spinach spaetzle

Immagine

This was the star dish when Teresa, Giovanni and Angela came round for dinner the other evening!

I had a “ball” of cooked spinach in the freezer. So, when it had thawed I squeezed out as much water as possible and chopped it roughly. I then put it in the Magimix with 500 g flour and 5 eggs. I added enough water to create a thick sticky paste. I grated the paste through the spaetzle grater and let them fall into a pan of salted boiling water. When the spaetzle rose to the surface I drained them into a colander. For the sauce, I sautèed some onion for a few minutes with a little salt, added chopped speck, and then  a generous tablepoon of butter. Finally I added a generous glass of cream and then the spaetzle and black pepper.

I served the spaetzle with a good sprinkling of parmesan.

 

Leave a Reply

