chinese style spare ribs

Immagine

I can’t barbecue, I burn. These ribs are oven roasted, so foolproof!

First I make the marinade by mixing together a teaspoon of salt, a spoon of sugar, two tablespoons of soy sauce, two teaspoons of 5-spice, a crushed dried chilli, a splash of white wine and a teaspoon of tomato puree.  I cut the ribs in half with a meat cleaver and marinade  in the sauce for a few hours. I pre-heat the oven to 200°C and transfer the meat and marinade to a non-stick roasting pan. They cook for 40 minutes or so, I turn them over halfway.

This is a nice prelude to a barbecue, if I can get someone else to cook. Otherwise they’re perfect with a salad.

Leave a Reply

