cheese and ham bread

Immagine

This ring of tasty bread is great with hams and cheeses at a party.

I boil two small potatoes (actually I wrap them in cling and microwave for 4 minutes), then I put them through the ricer and, when cool, I add them to 250 gm flour, a packet of fast action yeast, 2 eggs, 50 g melted butter and a teaspoon of salt in the Magimix. I add a few spoons of warm water to create a softish dough, which I work (the machine works!) until smooth and elastic. I transfer to a bowl, cover in film, and leave to rise for an hour. Then I add 100 gm of chopped cooked ham and a small mozzarella, chopped into small pieces. I put this into a buttered ring mould and leave to rise for an hour and a half. I cook it in the oven at 180°C for 40 minutes. If it colours too quickly on top, I cover with foil in the last stages.

A ring mould is not essential, you can use an ordinary cake tin too. Actually, it’s easier to unmould from a cake tin!

Leave a Reply

