broad bean falafel

Immagine

This is the Eyptian version of falafel but you can use dried chick peas instead for the Israeli version.

First I soak dried broad beans (fava) in water overnight. The next morning I drain them  and process well in the mixer to form a paste.  I add a teaspoon of bicarbonate, a teaspoon of cumin seed, a crushed dried chilli, salt and pepper and leave for an hour. Then I add half a finely chopped onion and a handful of chopped herbs (mint, parsley and anything else).I form patties with the mixture and cook in olive oil for a few minutes each side in a non stick pan over a medium heat. They should be crisp outside and soft inside.

I serve simply with a salad.

 

Leave a Reply

