cabbage salad with speck

Immagine

Summer cabbage is my favourite salad vegetable, much more tender and tasty than the normal white cabbage. I like this Tirolean salad which uses speck instead of oil.

First I thinly slice the cabbage on the mandolin, put it in a serving bowl and add salt, pepper and caraway seeds. I then cut some speck into little sticks and heat it in a non-stick frying pan. When the fat starts to melt, I add a few tablespoons of white wine vinegar and let it bubble away for a few seconds. I then pour this over the cabbage, mix well and leave it to absorb the flavours for 5 minutes before serving.

If speck is not available, you could use smoky bacon.

Leave a Reply

