french apple tart

Immagine

A big birthday party for Augusta last night and…. this was one of the desserts.

First I make the shortcrust pastry in the magimix with 250 gm flour, a pinch of salt, 125 gm butter and enough water to bind the mixture. I rest the dough in the fridge while I make the frangipane cream. I beat 150 gm soft butter, then add 100 gm sugar. When well mixed I add 150 gm ground almonds and a tablespoon of brandy and, bit by bit, an egg and two yolks, Finally a level tablespoon of flour. I roll out the pastry to fit a 30 cm tin and prick the base with a fork. I fill the case with the frangipane and put it into the fridge while I prepare the apples. I peel and halve four eating apples. I remove the pips and slice the halves thinly. I make a bicycle wheel pattern in the tin by pushing each sliced half firmly down into the frangipane. It cooks at 200°C for 15 minutes and a further 15-20 minutes at 180°C. I sprinkle the surface with sugar 10 minutes before the end. Just before serving I brush an apricot glaze all over the top. The glaze is simply made by heating a spoon of apricot jam with a squeeze of lemon juice in the microwave.

It must have been alright as not much was left over. I DO however have masses of rice left. What will I do with it? Watch this space…

Leave a Reply

