pork fillet and roast potatoes

Immagine

Pork fillet cooks fast but becomes dry if you overcook … which is what I did yesterday, so keep an eagle eye on the clock!

I make a flat omlette with two eggs, a dash of milk and plenty of parsley. I only cook one side and transfer to a plate to cool. I open the fillet lengthways and flatten out as much as possible with the meat hammer. I salt the meat and cover it with Parma ham and the omelette, roll up and tie with string. Meanwhile I’ve peeled and parboiled potatoes for 10 minutes. I put meat and potatoes in a roasting tin, add salt and pepper and a dribble of olive oil and cook at 180°C for 30 minutes, basting at the halfway stage.

 A rolling pin will do the job of a meat hammer if you don’t have one, but be sure you cover the meat in film or oven paper before you start bashing.

Leave a Reply

