hamburger and rosti

Immagine

If I have top quality mince beef, freshly minced and freshly bought, then it’s hard to beat a hamburger. I like the meat very pink and to hell with health concerns about e-coli etc.

First, the rosti. I grate potatoes in the Magimix, add salt and pepper and tip into a non-stick frying pan with olive oil, With a spatula, I shape the potatoes into rounds and cook over a medium heat for 5 minutes until nicely coloured, I flip the rounds over and proceed to cook the other side. When the potato rosti are ready, I sprinkle salt into another pan and put it onto a high heat. I season the meat and shape it into rounds. They cook for 3 or 4 minutes each side. There’s no need for oil in the pan, but you can dribble a little fresh olive oil over the meat on the plate.

Another nice thing with rosti, which I ate in Dublin airport of all places,  is to put a thick slice of goat’s cheese  on top of the cooked rosti, and then pop under the grill to colour and melt.

Leave a Reply

