leek tart

Immagine

Inspired by the Great British Bake Off (great programme!) here’s my version of a quiche…

First I chop leeks and sautè them in a little butter and olive oil. While they cool, I make the shortcrust pastry (150gm flour, 75gm butter, salt and  water) and leave it to rest in the fridge for 30 minutes. I prepare the custard by beating two eggs with 200 ml cream and three tablespoons of parmesan, a little salt and pepper. Then I roll out the pastry thinly and line a tin. I prick the base with a fork and bake the case blind for 15-20 minutes at 180°C. (To bake blind, I use a sheet of baking paper weighed down by ceramic baking beans which I remove in the last 5 minutes.) I let the case cool a little, then add the leeks and custard. It returns to the oven for 35-40 minutes.

These tarts are good for stand-up parties or as a supper treat with a salad. I prefer to eat the quiche cold.

Leave a Reply

