pork chops in beer

Immagine

This was popular in the seventies, so excuse my age coming through!

I slice three onions (not too finely) and flour four large pork chops. I briefly sautè the onions in a frying pan with some olive oil and brown the meat. I season well with salt and pepper and add a glass of beer (or cider) and two teaspoons of Dijon mustard. I transfer the lot into a roasting tin, cover with foil and put in a preheated oven at 180°C. I check after an hour, turn the chops and continue cooking another 20 to 30 minutes, uncovered if there’s a lot of liquid.

The meat should be meltingly soft, the onions caramellised and mashed potato is a must.

 

Leave a Reply

