meat pies

Immagine

The Life of Pie …. mmm.

I make the filling first. I chop half an onion, half a leek,and  a carrot and sautè them briefly in a large frying pan with olive oil. I then add 500gm of best minced meat, season with salt, pepper and dried herbs  turn up the heat and brown it well. When all the liquid has gone, I add a splash of white wine and cook briskly until it too has evaporated. Finally, I add a good squeeze of triple concentrate tomato paste dissolved in half a glass of water. This cooks gently unti the mixture is dry. At this point I add some chopped parsley and  leave it to cool, I prepare shortcrust pastry in the Magimix with 250 gm flour, 125 gm butter, a teaspoon of salt and enough water. I use the pulse function for better control. I rest the pastry in the fridge for 30 minutes.

I roll out the pastry and make 4 circles, using a fruit plate as a template. I brush the edges with beaten egg and pile a quarter of the cold meat in each. I sprinkle a teaspoon of parmesan on top and close the pasties well. I brush them with egg, make a few pricks with the point of a sharp knife and cook them in the oven for 30 minutes at 180°C.

HP, ketchup or English mustard alongside one of these pies makes life worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

