roast chicken

Immagine

Free-range chickens are now available in my supermarket and they ARE worth roasting.

First I turn on the oven at 200°C. Then I rub the bird all over with a clove of garlic. Next, I carefully loosen the skin over the breast and push in  chopped rosemary and lemon peel. I put a lemon cut in half into the body cavity along with the clove of garlic. I rub the bird all over with olive oil, and sprinkle it with salt and pepper. I tuck a sprig of rosemary into the wing joints. Finally I cover the breast with a piece of aluminium foil and roast in the oven for an hour. Then I remove the foil and roast for another 30 minutes, basting frequently.

When cooked, rest the bird for 10 minutes before carving. Hot with roast potatoes, cold the next day with salad!

Leave a Reply

