zelten

Immagine

Zelten is a speciality from SouthTyrol. This is my mother-in-law’s (Lea De Poli) recipe, which is always warmly welcomed at the Christmas table. I cook it now and freeze until Christmas morning.

I mix the dried fruits: 200 gm chopped figs, 200 gm chopped walnuts, 100 gm raisins and 100 gm chopped almonds. Then I melt 100 gm butter and, when cool, add 150 gm sugar, 2 eggs, 500gm plain flour, a pinch of salt, a glass of milk and  a packet of baking powder. I incorporate the dried fruits and fill a lightly greased baking tray. I arrange some extra almonds on top and brush with beaten egg.  It cooks in the oven at 180°C for 30-40 minutes.

I serve the cake cut into small squares and piled on a festive plate with a sprig or two of holly. I love kitsch!

 

One thought on “zelten

Leave a Reply

