piadina

Immagine

This flat bread is popular in Romagna where it would be filled with water cress and soft cheese or Parma ham. Traditionally made with lard, I prefer the olive oil version.

I mix together 250gm flour, two or three tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of milk, a teaspoon of salt and a teaspoon of bicarbonate. Then I add about half a glass of warm water to make a dough, which is then rested in the fridge for 45 minutes. I divide the dough into 4 and roll each piece out thinly. I cook the piadina for a few minutes on each side in a dry non stick pan.

I often break up piadine to use for dips  with drinks. Last night I had no water cress, so just used a salad instead. Not bad!

Leave a Reply

