chinese cabbage, hot and sour

Immagine

I like this dish because the only essential ingredient  is cabbage, the rest can vary according to the contents of the fridge!

I finely slice Chinese cabbage and half an onion. Then I make julienne strips of courgette and/or carrot and/or red pepper. I also prepare the sauce by mixing together 3-4 spoons of soy sauce, the same amount of vinegar, a teaspoon of salt and a scant tablespoon of sugar. In a large frying pan or wok I heat some olive oil and add 2 crumbled dried chillies and a few black peppercorns. Then I add the vegetables and stir-fry for 1-2 minutes. I add the sauce and stir-fry for another minute. I remove the vegetables with a slotted spoon to a serving dish, leaving the sauce in the pan. I reduce the sauce  to a tablespoon. This I then pour over the cabbage.

This dish is surprisingly good (better?) cold.

Leave a Reply

