pork skewers

Immagine

The inspiration (!) came from an old recipe book by Robert Carrier. With a few tweaks it might make it into my usual repetoire.

I cut thin slices of pork loin into  2cm squares. These marinate for 15 minutes in a tablespoon each of ground coriander and cumin, 3-4 tablespoons of soy sauce, a tablespoon of lemon juice, a teaspoon of brown sugar, a little salt and a tablespoon of finely chopped onion. I thread the meat onto skewers and fry in a little olive oil, turning frequently.  When the meat is well coloured (3-4 minutes) I add the rest of the marinade and let it reduce quickly. Maybe next time I’ll add a little chili pepper for zing!

I served it today with couscous. Plain rice would be nice too, or just a salad.

Leave a Reply

