rainy day pasta

Immagine

It’s fun to make tagliatelle by hand, and they taste better than machine made. You do however need to try a few times before they come out really well!

I make the pasta in the Magimix (purists do it by hand) with 100 gm flour and an egg per person, to which I add  a splash of olive oil. Sometimes I use semola (durum wheat flour), other times I use normal flour and often I mix them. I rest the dough for 30 minutes. Then I roll it out on a large pastry board (100 to 150 gm at a time). The sheet must be very thin, transparent. This takes patience! Then I flour the sheet lightly and fold it up. Now i cut off half centimeter strips. I toss these in the air a little to open them and place them on a floured tray while I get on with the next batch.

When rolling I keep the pressure over the dough in the middle of the pin. When I have a large dinner plate size, I wrap the dough around the pin and roll. Then I hang part over the edge of the table and roll out what’s on the board. I keep one hand on the dough and roll-push with the other. It’s actually quite hard to explain in words!

A nice occupation for a rainy day like today.

Leave a Reply

