roast pork loin

Immagine

Pork loin cooks fast and makes a nice Sunday roast… which we can also eat cold for a day or two afterwards!

I turn on the oven at 200°C. I prepare the pork loin by inserting slivers of garlic along the top, salt and pepper all over and tying up with string. Then I mix together a good 50 gms butter with 2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard and some chopped fresh sage. This I spread all over the pork which I then put into a non-stick roasting tin. It goes into the hot oven for 10 minutes, then I reduce the heat to 180°C and cook for another 50 to 60 minutes, basting every 15 minutes or so.

When cooked (an inserted skewer goes in easily and comes out clean) I remove the meat from the tin and while it rests, I deglaze the tin on the hob with a good splash of white wine. I pour some of this jus over the thin slices of meat and serve the rest separately.

Sautéed potatoes and carrots would be a nice accompaniment.

One thought on “roast pork loin

Leave a Reply

