curried pumpkin soup

Immagine

With colder weather now, a soup is always nice for supper.

I sauté half a chopped onion in olive oil and add a good spoonful of curry. Then I add cubes of pumpkin and, after a minute or so, water. I add salt, pepper and a teaspoon of vegetable stock granules. The soup simmers until the pumpkin is thoroughly cooked. Then I use the minipimer to create a smooth, thickish soup. I serve with a swirl of cream or yogurt and a few roasted pumpkin seeds.  Alternatively, use croutons.

I used  roasted pumpkin left over from the gnocchi, so the soup cooked really quickly. It IS a bother to peel a pumpkin for this soup; luckily you can get ready cut cubes from the supermarket.

Leave a Reply

