pumpkin gnocchi

Immagine

Gnocchi take time, but pumpkin gnocchi aren’t difficult.

First I cook the pumpkin in the oven at 200°C for an hour. I then peel it and remove the seeds. When the flesh is cold I mash  300 gms of  it and  mix this with 180 gm parmesan, 200 gms ricotta, an egg, cinnamon, nutmeg and about 200-300 gms flour. The dough should be soft but firm enough to be rolled out into sausage shapes.  I cut gnocchi from each “sausage” and put them on a tray. If the gnocchi are to be cooked immediately, I flour the tray. If they’re to be frozen, I line it with baking paper. To freeze, I put the trays into the freezer and a few hours later transfer the gnocchi to bags.

To cook them I plunge them ( straight from the freezer) into boiling salted water. When they come to the surface I remove them with a slotted spoon and they go into a pan with butter and sage (or chives). I serve with more parmesan.

I made a dose and a half yesterday. Now they’re in the freezer awaiting a suitable occasion!

2 thoughts on “pumpkin gnocchi

Leave a Reply

