focaccia, slightly burnt

Immagine

You have to watch this like a hawk as it burns very quickly. Cooking time is 25 to 30 minutes, burning time is ONE minute!

First I boil 300 gm of  peeled and cubed potato, reserving the cooking water. I mash the potato and when it’s cool enough to handle, I put the following into the Magimix: 500 gm of flour,2 teaspoons of sugar, 2 teaspoons of salt, 2 tablespoons of olive oil, the potato, and a packet of yeast granules. I mix with enough potato water to make a softish dough. I knead the dough a bit and set aside, covered, to rise for an hour and a half. I then roll it out into a large rectangle and put it onto a well-oiled baking tray. I press small cherry tomatoes into it and leave it, covered, to prove for 15 minutes. I sprinkle on top some coarse sea salt, some dried origano and olive oil. The oven should be hot (220°C).

This is nice with Parma ham.

Leave a Reply

