chinese beef and noodles

 

With time for a little extra care this morning, I prepared this family favourite, with beef instead of the usual pork.

I finely slice two frying steaks and julienne a carrot and half an onion. I make the pasta by whizzing an egg with 100 gm flour and a splash of olive oil in the magimix. The dough rests half an hour, then I roll it out thinly and cut  fine tagliatelle .

When the water comes to the boil, I fry the steak quickly in a little olive oil. Next, I add the carrot and onion and season with salt and five spice powder. I drop the pasta in the boiling salted water. I add a splash of soy sauce to the meat, drain the pasta and add it to the pan to absorb the juices.

Shop-bought Chinese or Italian noodles make life easier. But there’s nothing like home-made pasta!

Leave a Reply

