rice salad

Immagine

There was meatloaf left over from yesterday, but not enough for three, so I made a rice salad to go with it.

I boil 200 gm of long grain rice in salted water for 8 to 10 minutes, drain it well and dress with a little extra-virgin olive oil and the juice of a lemon. While it cools, I get on with the vegetables. I slice an aubergine , a pepper and two courgettes lengthways and cook them in the “grill” pan of the microwave, which is on the combined grill/wave function. I sprinkle salt and a little olive oil over them and cook for 12 minutes  turning the vegetables once. With this quantity I do two batches. I halve a few tomatoes and cook them in the same way for about 3-4 minutes, turning once. If the microwave scares you, or you don’t have the specially coated grill pan, you can oven roast the vegetables at 200°C for 45minutes.

I cut the grilled vegetables and add them to the rice with some chopped mint. I check the seasoning and arrange the tomato halves on top. Augusta said a few black olives would have been a good addition too.

Leave a Reply

