custard tart

Immagine I like sweet pastry to be crisp and not too sweet. So, I make it in the Magimix with 200gm flour, 100 gm butter, 80 gm sugar and two egg yolks. Sometimes you need a little extra cold water to bind it together. I wrap the dough in cling film and rest it in the fridge while I make the custard filling.

I beat three egg yolks with 80gm sugar and then mix in 60 gm flour. I heat 500ml milk with a strip of lemon peel, pour the hot milk onto the eggs, mix well and return the custard to the pan to thicken over a medium flame. I pour it into a bowl to cool. When it’s completely cold, I can assemble the tart and cook.

I put oven paper into the base of a buttered cake tin. I roll out two thirds of the dough for the base and almost all the rest for the sides. I fill the case with the cold custard and lay a few strips of dough across the top. I sometimes dot the surface with little balls of dough or a make cut-out star shapes!

I cook the tart in a pre-heated oven at 180°C for about an hour. I check after 30 minutes and cover the tin with aluminium paper if the top and sides are burning. I turn out the tart and leave it to cool on a wire rack.

We had this yesterday and there’s none left today.

Leave a Reply

