stuffed pork fillet

Immagine My mother would make a similar dish on special occasions. Today William and Chiara came for lunch,so I had an excuse to make an occasion of it!

I make the stuffing by whizzing a slice of white bread with two handfuls of herbs ( parsley, sage, rosemary, oregano and thyme),parmesan cheese, nutmeg, salt and pepper and an egg. I open the fillet and batter it with a meat hammer. I season the meat, spread the stuffing and roll up. I smear the roll with Dijon mustard, put it in a roasting tin, dribble some olive oil on top and cook at 200°C for 40 minutes. After 10 minutes I add a half glass of white wine. During the cooking time, I baste the meat a few times with juices from the pan.

Today we had some sautéed potatoes with it. I also made a tart, but that’s tomorrow’s tale!

Leave a Reply

