couscous and roasted vegetables with harissa dressing

 ImmagineThis is an excellent summer dish and looks particularly nice in a glass bowl.

First, I put cubed vegetables (aubergine, courgette, pepper and onion) in a large roasting tin, season them and add a trickle of olive oil  . I roast them in the oven (200°C) for 40 minutes. Meanwhile, I cover 200 g of couscous with 400ml of boiling water with a scant teaspoon of vegetable stock in granules.. I cover the bowl and after 5 minutes I fork through to separate the grains. I prepare the dressing by mixing together 2 teaspoons of harissa with the juice of a lemon and a tablespoon of extra-virgin olive oil. To compose the salad, I mix some of the vegetables with the couscous and place it in a glass serving bowl. I add the rest of the vegetables , a layer of salad leaves and dribble half the dressing  on top. I serve the rest of the dressing at the table.

Sometimes I add cubes of feta  cheese to the couscous. If I don’t have harissa, I make a substitute by mixing together ground cumin, chilli flakes and 2 teaspoons of tomato paste.

Leave a Reply

