sbrissolona

 Immagine

Sbrissolona. Gratone. Fregolota. Three names for three very similar biscuit cakes. It’s lovely with a glass of dessert wine – Tuscan vin santo or torcolato from Breganze. Also very nice to eat with strawberries and cream (or yogurt), as we had it today at Teresa’s house in Asiago. This recipe was given to me by my sister-in-law, Chiara.

First I whizz 100 gm of  skinned almonds in the Magimix; then I add 100 gm flour, 80 gm  sugar and 100 gm  butter and whizz again. Finally I add an egg yolk and whizz again. I put the crumbs in a tin lined with baking paper and spread them out into a 40 by 20 cm oblong. it goes into a pre-heated oven (160°C) for 20 – 30 minutes. It needs watching: if it browns too quickly, turn down the heat!

I cool the sbrissolona on a wire rack. Don’t worry if it breaks when you transfer it to a  serving tray/dish.

 

Leave a Reply

