chinese pork and egg noodles

chinese 001

 

Italians find it hard to imagine noodles as an accompaniment, but we like them with Chinese pork. In the normal way I would allow 100 gm of flour and an egg per person, but this quantity is enough for two.

I make the dough in the Magimix with a splash of olive oil. I let it rest a while and then I roll it out as thinly as possible on my dough board. I fold up the sheet and cut it into thin strips, which I lay out on a floured tray. I prepare the meat by cutting it into fine strips which I marinade in a tablespoon of five spice powder, flour and salt.

When the salted water boils for the pasta, I throw in the noodles. I  stir fry the pork in a little olive oil in a large non-stick pan. When it’s coloured, I add a big splash of soy sauce and the same of water. I drain the noodles and add them to the pan where I let them absorb the soy liquids for a minute or two.

If I’m out of five spice, I can grind star anise, cinnamon, fennel, black pepper and cloves.

Leave a Reply

