strozzapreti

spag 001This is probably the easiest fresh pasta to make because it doesn’t need to be rolled out thinly by hand or machine.
For two people, I make the dough with 200 gm flour, a dash of olive oil and water (c 100-120 ml) in the Magimix. I let the dough rest half an hour. Then I roll out half into a 40 x 20 cm rectangle. I divide this into two 40 X 10 cm pieces. Then I cut the two pieces into 1 X 10 cm strips. I rub each strip between the palms of my hands to create a “spaghetto”. I lay the strozzapreti on a floured tray and continue with the other half of the dough. Augusta helped and we made the pasta in 10 minutes.
For the sauce, I sauté some chopped onion in a non-stick frying pan, add 3 or 4 bay leaves, garlic flakes and chilli flakes, and a tin of plum tomatoes and salt. I cook gently to create a sauce, adding a glug of olive oil at the end.
I cook the pasta in plenty of boiling salted water – it only takes a few minutes – drain it and mix it with the sauce in the pan.

Leave a Reply

