falafel

faf 002

 I follow Claudia Roden’s recipe here and use dried broad beans. Other authors use chickpeas. In any case, the procedure is the same.

Last night I soaked 200 gm of beans in  a bowl of water. This morning I drained the beans and whizzed them to a smooth paste in the Magimix. I added 2 teaspoons of ground cumin, some chilli powder, a teaspoon of bicarbonate, salt and pepper. At midday I added some finely chopped onion and a large handful of chopped herbs (mint and coriander). I then made 10 flat patties, which I fried over a medium flame for 3-4 minutes each side in olive oil.

We had the falafel with a salad. and, for the first time this year, ate outside on the terrace!

Leave a Reply

