roasted aubergine with lemon and onion

aubergine 001

This is a nice dish for the summer, and today is warm!

I halve aubergines, make  criss-cross cuts on the flesh, brush with oil, season well and roast in the oven at 200°C for 45 minutes.

While they cook, I sauté 2 large onions cut into fine slices, season with salt, cumin and fresh chilli pepper for about 15 minutes.  I crumble in some feta cheese and cook for another 2 or 3 minutes. I cut away the skin and pith of a lemon. Over a bowl, I remove the lemon segments and squeeze out the juice.

When the aubergines are cooked, I transfer them to a serving plate, pour over the lemon pieces and juice and put the onion cheese mixture on top of that. I leave everything to come to room temperature.

 

Leave a Reply

