meatballs and rice

ImmagineAs my mother always said, you have to use best quality mince steak. She would get the butcher to mince it in front of her eyes, never trusting the already prepared stuff on display. I just go for the most expensive all-beef mince on sale at the supermarket.

I  hand mix mince, dried breadcrumbs, parmesan, chopped parsley, an egg, salt and pepper. I make small balls which I then brown in a pan with a little extra virgin olive oil. I add a can of plum tomatoes, season again and cook gently for 10-15 minutes until the sauce is reduced and the balls cooked through.

I cook Uncle Ben’s  long-grain rice in plenty of  boiling salted water for 8 minutes, drain and return to the pan with a knob of butter. Off the heat, I add a spoon or two of parmesan.

Simple but good!

 

 

Leave a Reply

