strudel

strudel 002

The recipe is an old one from Augusta’s family… and since her brother came round for supper last night, it seemed the right thing to choose.

First I made the pastry by combining 250 grams of flour, a knob of butter, a pinch of salt and warm milk in the magimix. I left the pastry to rest covered under a dish while I peeled and cut up 3 rennet apples into small pieces, roughly chopped a handful of walnuts, found some raisins and weighed out 80 grams of sugar and 80 gms of butter.

I then rolled the pastry out paper thin (like for tagliatelle) on my floured wooden pastry board, spread the apple pieces over it and sprinkled on sugar, walnuts and raisins. I added the zest of a lemon (sometimes I use cinnamon instead) and  flecks of butter (about 60 gm). Finally, I rolled up the pastry into a sausage, secured the ends well , pushed it into a crescent shape and put it on baking paper on an oven sheet. I brushed the remaining melted butter on top and baked for 45 minutes at 180°C.

On a nice plate with a sprinkling of icing sugar, this cake is seriously impresssive! PS. It should be eaten warm.

 

One thought on “strudel

Leave a Reply

