tandoori chicken

I always buy Indian spice mixes when I’m in the UK – and they always show up as suspect packages at airport security! So, today’s tandoori mix came from Waitrose at the Westfield Centre in Shepherd’s Bush.

I removed the skin from 8 pieces of chicken and made deep slashes in the flesh. Then I made the marinade by combining 4 teaspoons of tandoori mix, three crumbled dried chillis, the juice of a lemon, 4 spoons of plain yogurt, salt and a dash of extra virgin olive oil. I poured the yogurt mixture over the meat and put the dish in the fridge to marinade for 4 hours.

I removed the pieces of chicken from the dish, laid them in a large roasting tin and put it into the oven at 200°C. I turned the pieces every 15 minutes or so, spooning extra marinade over them as needed. Total cooking time was 45-55 minutes.

The best ever tandoori chicken I remember was made by Terry years ago. He barbecued it on one of those rare British summers when the sun shone!Immagine

Leave a Reply

