rosti

My Mama was  Swiss, so of course I like rosti,  both the more traditional dish made with cooked potatoes and the more modern one with raw.  I’m making the modern one today.

I grate potatoes in the Magimix and leave them to soak in cold water for a while. Then when I’m ready to cook, I drain them, put them in a clean tea towel and squeeze out as much water as possible.

I tip them into a non stick pan with olive oil, salt and pepper and firm down with the back of a spoon. I cook on a moderate flame until crisp on one side, then turn over (with the aid of a large plate) and cook the other side. Sometimes I add a little chopped onion to the potato mixture. Sometimes I make them individual size.

Today we’ll have the rosti with a smoked pork chop, which just needs  a couple of minutes in boiling water. I’ll put a good dollop of Dijon mustard on the plate too!

Leave a Reply

