hot cross buns

“With a culinary history as rich and varied as the landscape itself, the superb food of Britain has too long been underestimated.”  So goes the blurb to the”Great Country Cookbook”  a beautifully illustrated book which my friend Chris gave me as a wedding present in 1979. And from here comes “hot cross buns”, a must for Easter breakfasts and teatimes. The cinnamon I used today is from a stash bought by Hannah two summers ago in a very rainy Connemara when she made us all the best ever apple crumble.

I made the dough by whizzing together (using the plastic blade) 500 gm flour, 50 gm butter, 50 gm sugar, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, mixed spice, 100 gm raisins, a packet of yeast, 200 cc of warm milk and a beaten egg I kneaded the dough for a few minutes and left it to rise in a covered bowl near the radiator.

An hour or so later, I re-worked the dough briefly and divided it into 12 buns. These I placed on a sheet of baking paper and made a deep cross on the top of each. Again I covered the tray and left it near the radiator for 30 minutes to rise again.

Then into the oven at 200 C for 15-20 minutes. I prepared a glaze by boiling together 3 spoons of sugar with 4 spoons of water and brushed this over the buns while still hot.

I had the smallest one after lunch and put the rest in the freezer for Good Friday.

Leave a Reply

